Day off at work (sort of)

Technically, Thursdays are my day off. However, today there is a funeral that required my attention. Ah the life of a minister… never a dull moment. Luckily, today I only have to run the sound board. Last weekend there were two, one I ran sound and the other I was the song leader during the memorial service. I also was asked to create a video tribute for the deceased in that one. It went over really well. The families suggestion for background music was perfect – Appalachian Spring by Copland. Its about 22 minutes long, but I was able to find a few clips that were easy to blend together. Then I had pictures of the deceased at various stages of life moving across the screen. The funeral home, who does this as a service when at their chapel, asked who did the video tribute and how they did it. So that was pretty neat… not to mention the thanks from the family of the deceased.

I’m actually typing today’s entry from the balcony of the sanctuary. We just recently got the sanctuary computer connected to our church’s network. It really takes a load off knowing we can access it from our offices… It just so happens that in that process we can also access the internet from the sanctuary computer. It’s about 7 minutes until the funeral starts, so I guess I had better get focused on that need.

God bless.

Leave a Reply

