Blogging is difficult

It is. For me, it’s more difficult because it seems pointless. I guess in the long run… who really needs to (or wants to) hear about the life of a music minister? But until someone convinces me otherwise…blogging is a part of life for too many people for it to be called “pointless”. I’m sure at some point, blogging will be a way of life that cannot be ignored. So, here I am again, with the question, “What can be said today?”

After a few weeks of no posts, I guess there’s plenty to be said. It has been very busy, too busy, but yet I still struggle with what to write.

One of the best things recently has been the overwhelming positive response to a solo handbell piece I rang a few weeks ago. It was an arrangement of “Amazing Grace” for one ringer and piano. I rang 2 octaves (the melody) in 3 or 4 keys accompanied by a jazz-swing piano part, to which I added organ and drums for the fun of it. It is sort of difficult to do, but once learned it really is easy. The fun part is that it looks terribly difficult to the average person’s eyes. The way the bells are picked up and rung and put down, though very simple, looks very difficult. I had an overwhelming number of positive comments on it. Even some of the handbell choir (13 people to ring 5 octaves) were amazed. (I’m not sure I’ll tell them how easy it really is 🙂 )

We’ve had good choirs on Sundays too. One Sunday, the loft was full… totally unexpected to me. It’s so nice when everyone shows up. I wish it were that way every time we were together, not just to sing on Sundays, but every time – I so enjoy being with this group of people. What a privilege to be in front of them on a weekly basis.

Prep for our Musical on April 9 is coming down to the wire. I should be working on that, but, no, I felt it important to blog. What’s up with that? There’s still a lot to be done. I can’t even begin a list here. I guess I had better close this and get to work.

Leave a Reply

