I’m not really a sensasionalist

I don’t really like to try to create something where there is nothing just by using sensationalistic stories. I feel that if you want to worship, you will. If you don’t want to, well, you won’t, no matter what I say. I believe my responsibility as worship leader is to create an atmosphere where you can worship if you want to.

That being said, I just have to share this story with you – though it is quite sensational and will certainly tug at the true worshipper’s heart.

True worship and your life should intertwine. Worship that is disconnected from where you are and what you are going through most likely is not true worship. I’m not saying that worship is about us and our lives…because the ultimate goal in worship is to glorify (or bring recognition and glory to) God Almighty. But, in glorifying God, there should be a connection with where we are and what we’re going through. I ran across this from the ministry of Hillsong in Austrailia. You can find more at Youtube, but these two videos pretty much sum it up.

This first story is a little info from the song writer and from the worship leaders who sang this with him during a worship musical. The second video is a full recording of what you hear snipits of in the first video. If you can’t worship God in the bottom valleys like this, than I just can’t believe that you are really worshiping in the mountain tops.

2 Responses

  1. I have been looking for answers, but not digging too deep. I think this actually helps to sum up a good deal of what I have been asking myself. I could blame my job for not having enough time to practice guitar, but I can’t blame anyone but myself for not taking the time to worship daily. Honestly, it is rare that I do worship. Again, just being honest.

    I agree that worship shouldn’t be based on an emotional feeling, yet true worship will purge your heart through your emotions and everything that you are.

    Bless you, Bobby for being a vehicle of truth…

  2. As I watched these videos I was reminded of Job’s response in Job 1:20-21 when he found out that his entire household had been destroyed…

    “20 After Job heard all of those reports, he got up and tore his robe. He shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground and worshiped the Lord. 21 He said,
    “I was born naked.
    And I’ll leave here naked.
    You have given, and you have taken away.
    May your name be praised.”

    I pray that whatever may come in my life I will never let it get in the way of worshiping the Lord.

Leave a Reply

