• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

The disease of perfectionism

I’ve been working for about 2 and a half hours on the new banner at the top of my blog. Did it take me two hours to create it? No…but it took me two hours to upload it, change it, upload it again, perfect it (or so I thought) and upload it again. I went through that process at least 20-30 times. I wish I had’ve counted so I could give you an accurate number. But it was way more than I planned on spending…all because of perfectionism.

As a musician, perfection is always the goal but rarely ever attained (at my level of musicianship anyway). I served a church once that all they wanted was perfection from their music ministry. In that pursuit, they lost sight of the only subject for worship, and began to worship perfection. Micah 6:8 says, “He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” That’s a worshiper…one who does these things. Worship is about the heart, not the action.

3 Responses

  1. I love that verse. It’s one of my favorites. I long to be near Him, to worship Him truly from my heart. Thank you for reminding me of this verse.

  2. Fourth attempt to post a comment. I think I actually have time, now. In my role as a worship leader (of sorts), I find myself rarely worshiping during the service, worrying instead about perfectionism (or as close to it as you can get with skills like mine) getting everything right, etc . I practice a lot, thinking, like David, that I will not offer to God that which costs me nothing. Is this wrong? I want what I offer to please God, but will He be pleased with less than my best? I struggle with the “ego-look-at-me” thing, too. Am I trying to please men instead of God? Any thoughts?

  3. Joe, I would go back to the scripture quoted…”What does He (God) require of you…to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly…” As musicians, it is a very rare thing that any of us would be good enough to not have to practice – or offer that which costs us nothing. Chet Atkins (one of the greatest guitarists ever) once said that if he didn’t get at least 8 hours of practice in a day, he felt like he was starting all over again – from scratch – the next day.

    I don’t think the pursuit of perfection is a bad thing…if that perfection you are pursuing is within the context of a heart filled with true worship. The problem would be pursuing playing all the notes perfectly and missing out on worship. That’s when it becomes an issue to me.

Leave a Reply

