• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

I’ve got a long way to go

You ever run across something that reminds you of how much you don’t know…or how far you have to go…or maybe even that you might be on the wrong road completely?

My pastor sent me a link to a worship service of First Baptist Church, Woodstock, GA. Travis Cotrell was a guest worship leader in a Sunday evening service. All I can say is, I’ve got a long way to go to lead with the freedom of worship and compassion that Travis shows. Not that I want to be just like him, but I wouldn’t mind having the heart behind worship leadership that he has.

Now, grant it, FBC Woodstock has resources in their music ministry that I’ll most likely never see. Having a full orchestra and several hundred voice choir, that surely has an impact on the passion represented in the video. However, I do still notice that I’m not there yet – in ability to lead worship like Travis does.

But this is where God has called me, this is what He has called me to at this point in my life…and I will continue in His calling until He moves differently. In the meantime, I’m to be about His business, bringing others into a more passionate relationship with God Almighty…and to that I’m committed.

Here’s a link to the video – the “concert” starts around 21:55 or so – so drag the tracking bar over to get to the section with Travis. God Bless. At 1:24:00, the response/invitation is again led by Travis…don’t miss this part.

Leave a Reply

