• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

It’s Friday

Fridays are, for me, catch up days. I spend most Monday’s studying and preparing for Handel’s Messiah rehearsal (I conduct a 40-45 voice community chorus). Tuesday’s are for staff meetings and hospital visits if necessary. Wednesdays are spent in worship service planning and preparation (moving stuff, rehearsing my guitar licks, learning new songs, etc.) But Fridays…ahhhhh. Fridays are fun because they’re so random.

A few weeks ago, my Fridays were quite absent of anything major. But the past few weeks…not so. My Fridays have been packed full of little projects that must be done, and done a.s.a.p. of course. For example, today, I’ve got about 3 website banners to create and another one to modify for copyright compliance. Not only is there the creation of them, but then the time it takes to get them posted to the church’s web site…which rarely is a “first-times-a-charm” kind of task. We’ve also got budget meetings coming up and I’ve promised myself to finish the music and worship ministry budgets by the end of today. Beyond that, I need to figure out how to get our pastor’s sermons streaming on our church’s web site (just putting the mp3s there amount to a severe lack in audio quality). There is also a student praise team song that has some severe electric licks that I haven’t even begun to figure out. And, as success sometimes dictates, our student praise team’s overwhelming quality in this past Sunday’s service means I’ve got to find more music for them so they can be involved in more of the service next time they’re scheduled to sing (Nov. 2 – which is also the day I’ve got to have that guitar lick learned). Music ministry never really slows down around here. But I like it that – way most of the time.

How’s your job? What do your days look like? Let us know more about you.

One Response

  1. Great job on the online sermons. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

