• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

Life is funny…if you step back and look at the big picture…

I’ll be honest with you and let you know that the past few weeks have been really tough. I’ve had less time to post and quite honestly, that’s probably for the better as I’m not sure I could have been too positive (thinking of my Positive vs. Negative post).

So…”life is funny?” Where does that come from? Well, I’ve spoken to more past friends in the past few weeks as I have in the past few years. Seeing each of them in their own trials and difficulties, praying for them, and seeking to be an encouragement to them…it has been taxing. And, it’s not just about them…I’ve had my own share of trials and difficulties.

Some, of course, I cannot discuss as this is a public venue. But some I can discuss…as many of you know, my wife and I are expecting our first baby in December. We’ve just recently began our “baby” classes at the hospital. It’s not really Lamaze, though some of those elements of breathing and relaxation are present. It’s more of “here’s what you can expect during labor and transition and here’s what you can expect from the hospital staff and here’s what you might expect when you take the baby home.” Let’s just say “eye-opening” doesn’t even cover it.

If you add on top of that my recent application to the University of Georgia’s Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA) in Conducting…that’s a whole other animal. Part of the process is taking the GRE…that’s like the SAT on steroids. Studying for it apparently is supposed to make you feel stupid…because it did. My vocabulary stinks…so a 440 was my score. I haven’t had any sort of math since 10th grade…thus a 520 on that. So, I’m not even sure if that’s good enough to get into the UGA program…but we’ll see, hopefully sooner than later.

Those are just two of the things I can tell you about. Add one other major thing and you can see how trial and difficulty has seeped in.

But God is good and He is in control. Those two truths have helped me through more trial and difficulty than anything…ever. If you take those two truths to heart, really rest on them and meditate on them…nothing is out of His hands…which means everything is in His hands…and if He is good, then all things will somehow come together to be ultimately good. No matter the trials or difficulties, because God is good and in control, the outcome will be good. So what do you think about that?

Leave a Reply

