Back in Action

I said I’d be back blogging on Dec. 1st. My Dec. 1st is sizing up to be quite the hectic day, so I thought I had better write this article the night before…since i know so many out there are pining for more nonsense from me. I’d hate to disappoint šŸ™‚

My last few weeks have been quite extreme. The same day my wife and I have our last ultrasound before the baby is born – finding out also that we are slated to be induced almost 10 days prior to the due date (that means, at that point, a mere three weeks away – and today, less than two), anyway, that same day, we find out that through a series of unfortunate events, our pastor was asked to resign.Ā Even though this is my own personal blog, even with the disclaimer that my views and opinions are not necessarily the views and opinions of my church – I still feel it prudent, and healthy, to refrain from posting any comments on the subject (feel free to ask me in person or email, and I might share my thoughts – maybe not). The point we’re at now though cannot be changed…only where we go from here can be affected. My choice is to “Trust in the LORD with allĀ [my] Ā heartĀ and lean not onĀ [my] own understanding;Ā in allĀ [my] ways acknowledge him, and he will makeĀ [my] paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6. Our associational missionary, Dr. Steve Ferguson, spoke on this today…you can find a recording of that sermon here (to be posted later this week – check back often).

The main point that he tried to hammer home, I believe, is that no matter what decisions we may have made in the past, whether good or bad, do not make any further decisions based on those previous decisions…make your decisions based on God’s truth…the only truth that matters. We lean too much on our own understanding…base too many decisions on what we want…and decide too many things out of historical precedent. We must do what we do, decide what we decide, on God’s truth and His desires for us. In order to do so, we must trust in the Lord and acknowledge Him in all our ways.

Even as I write this, the implications of this decision – to lean not on my own understanding, but on God’s – are huge and more far-reaching that I can even comprehend. Re-reading this post reminds me of how, in the desire to raise my soon-to-be-here child, there is no way I can do it in my own understanding. There is no way I can decide anything about my job or my church in my own understanding. There is no way I can love my wife in my own understanding. There is no way I can influence those around me towards Christ in my own understanding…it is all done by trusting in the Lord, acknowledging Him in all my ways…and resting in His promise to make my paths straight. But…to trust Him fully and acknowledge Him…that means spending time with Him. SO pray for me in that…and I’ll do the same for you.

God bless you as you seek to serve Him and bring others into a relationship with Him.

Leave a Reply

