• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

“BAD FORM!!!”

For some reason, that’s my favorite line from the Robin William’s movie “Hook”. I was really happy at the time to see Julia Roberts as Tinkerbell…but that was pre-Heather (my wife). Anyway…Robin William’s son in the movie sees Captain hook do something wrong while fencing with another of the lost children and uses the phrase, “Bad Form!” because he cheats of sorts. Well, for me…”Bad Form” relates to telling you, my reader, that I’d be back in the swing of blogging on Dec. 1. Grant it, I did get one in that day, but have not been able to do much of anything outside of work and family the last two days.

I would tell you the whole story, but that’s take way too long…so here’s the country music version. I woke up to a 57 degree house Tuesday morning and found out a few short hours later we needed a new furnace. Don’t worry…it’s only $4600. Pocket change for a minister and a social worker about to have their first baby (in two and a half weeks). Then, we’ve needed to call insurance for a leaky roof…a leaky already repaired roof…twice now. The damage has a potential for bringing a suit against the roofer…I don’t want to do that. He’s a really nice guy. But, I can’t have water dripping into my living room every time it rains…although I have wanted one of those indoor “endless pools” (Christmas anyone?). Now, on top of this…my wife’s parents have been in town so all our normalcy was out the window for about a week…love ’em but they messed up our day-to-day. Of course, there’s also that little thing of the baby coming in a bout two weeks…TWO WEEKS!!! I also have the Messiah performance this weekend…so rehearsals, last minute stuff (programs, check requests for performers, stage set up, etc.), not to mention some time to actually look at the music I’ll be conducting…anyway…it’s just been absolutely crazy. And…as most of you probably know, my church’s personnel and deacon body just asked our Sr. Pastor to resign, of which he did and this past Sunday was the first Sunday without a pastor. So, church stuff up to my ears. And…I found out today, something I’ve been trying to pursue for over a year…a DMA in Conducting…I didn’t make it past the first cuts for the program. So, no DMA pursuit this time around. I’m not sure what I’ll do next.

I don’t know if that’s the chorus or just the first verse…but anyway, you can see a lot’s happening. I will try to be more active throughout the weekend and give you some details on my rehearsals with profesional musicians…I’m telling you, this is gonna be good. I put the vocal soloist’s bios into the program today, these guys have some serious credentials. I might be in over my head (especially with one of them being a conducting professor). I can’t decide if I’m shaking because I can’t wait to stand in front of them or if I’m shaking because I’ll be standing in front of them. I hope I can get lost in the moment of the music…what a glorious piece it is.

Have a great day. Try to look for an opportunity to day to be a Christlike light to those around you. Even if it’s just a simple smile at a total stranger. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

