• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

Baby time

Those of you that know me and my wife, or have been paying close attention to this blog, know that we are expecting our first child very soon. Well, that time is upon us now. We go tonight to the hospital for all the preparatory stuff and tomorrow morning they’ll begin all the drugs and what-not so that labor will be induced. So, hopefully by Friday morning, afternoon, or evening, we’ll be parents.

I keep getting the strangest question…”Are you excited?” How do you expect me to answer that? “No, not really, my life is over as I know it.” Or “Well, I guess I don’t have a choice but to be excited since you’re asking that question with a silly giddiness on your face.”

So…of course, we are excited. This is a chapter in our life we’ve prayed for for years. The two of us, before we met, were thinking about what it would be like to have children in our future families. Plus, afterat least one miscarriage, after almost a year of being off birth control, hearing the dreaded “infertility” word, and another 6 months or so of fertility drugs before becoming pregnant, not to mention almost nine months of pregnancy…the day has finally arrived. So yes…we are excited.

But…of course…we have no idea what we’ve done. My only sibling, my sister, is 4 years older than me with two children. I didn’t get the privilege to be a good uncle and have any more than a casual meeting with both of her children. My wife, however, has four older sisters and a plethora of foster siblings who have a number of children that she’s been actively involved in their raising. But, they were never her primary responsibility. This one is…there is no one to hand off the baby to and say, “Okay, I’m going home now. Thanks for letting me take care of your baby for a short time.” This is our baby…given by God to raise in a Godly home…our responsibility. We greatly covet your prayers in this.

That being said…I will try to continue with some semblance of consistency. My blog on worship may turn toward baby stories or something, but I hope to continue. I guess I can write more now with all the sleep I’ll be losing!

Leave a Reply

