Sometimes computers stink.

I’m sure you know this, but I like to state the obvious.

We bought some software for our church to help us monitor Internet usage throughout our networked system. Once downloaded, the Internet stops working. There is no need to monitor the Internet if it doesn’t work once you download the program you purchased to monitor it…what makes sense about this?

I also tried to help another church member today. Most video cameras are designed to work with most computers with little or no effort. For some reason, this guy’s camera, when connected to the computer, would not recognize the video. It’s not a connection issue…the USB device manager confirms it…plus, it can get to the pictures on the SD card with no problem. But the video? Not possible. Now grant it, it’s only using USB 2.0, but it should still work for video. So, I had to take his camera to work and use my computer via IEEE1384 (Firewire) to get the video off the camera. But, it’s done.

Computers can be great and are most of the time. But sometimes I wonder what ministry would be like if we never had them. Well, I guess I did get the opportunity to minister to this guy by helping him with his project. And I guess it is good for all the staff to have computers that connect to the vast amount of resources on the Internet. So I should probably stop complaining before my computer shuts down on me.

How do you use your computer? In ministry? In home finances? Just for internet? Are you like a lot of Gen Xers who don’t even have TVs anymore and watch their TV via their computer? Let me know. Just for the fun of it.

One Response

  1. I use my computer for ministry, connecting with friends over the internet, i’ve recently begun watching some tv shows over the computer, I do some shopping from time to time, and my wife is getting ready to teach online.

    I love my computer and really can’t imagine what how I did everything before I got it.

Leave a Reply

