Super Bowl Party

You know that last line on your job description that reads, “All other duties as assigned by the pastor” (or boss, etc.)?

We are currently short staffed at my church. However, life must go on, so each pastor has had to pick up some of the duties and responsibilities of each other so that all things can remain in place. Since I had the best recollection of what we had done here in the past as well as previous church experience with Super Bowl Parties, we decided that I should take this one.

So, if you look back over the past several posts, you can see what my average work day looks like. This is one of those “extra” event things.

I’ve enjoyed working on it. The people I’ve recruited to help me get it organized have done a fabulous job. It will be a great event and I can’t wait to get it started. It’s about 4 pm and our party starts in just over 2 hours.

This year is sort of a test to see what sort of response we’ll get. We want to do a chili cookoff and dessert contest but wasn’t sure how many we might have since we’ve never done this before. So, hopefully, what we’ve planned for tonight will be exciting enough that others will want to be involved next year and we can go with the contests. Basically, this year we’ve got people bringing finger foods and snacks (hopefully some desserts too). We’ll watch the game on the big screen (taking one of our projectors and displaying it on a large white wall – about 15 ft diagonal). We’re also lucky enough to have a large gym with two full courts. We’ll have some playing basketball on one half court. Some will play some touch football on the other court maybe. I’m hoping we might be able to get some Ultimate Frisbee going – one of my favorite athletic sports and one of the only ones I can actually hold my own. I also bought a $4 wiffle ball set in case we wanted to do that too. Should be fun.

We also collect cans for our local Salvation Army (SOUPer bowl).

Do you do anything at your church for Super Bowl?

Leave a Reply

