• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

Thanks FBC Elberton

I wrote several months ago that I could not share what was going on in my life. The various readers of this blog prevented that because I did not, at that time, know what God was doing. The process was something I could not share until it was completed.

For about 7 months, my wife and I have been considering several opportunities to leave FBC Elberton. From several in Texas, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Alabama and South Carolina, God has called us to a small town in South Carolina called Pickens. The church is East Pickens Baptist Church and has a great fit for who we are and where we are in our lives right now. Though I probably would not have picked this church for me or my family, God saw fit to do so and for that we are thankful. The further we have gotten into the process with East Pickens, the more we realized it not only was where God was leading, but was also what we needed.

Last Sunday, June 14, I was leading worship at East Pickens. They were to vote on asking me to join the staff that morning. It was a 99% approval and we knew it was going to be.

This Sunday, June 21, I had to tell my church. I’ve never been able to read a resignation speech without crying. Today was no exception. There are many people we dearly love at FBC and do not desire to depart company with…but we are tools in God’s hands and He has seen fit to move us. So…we go.

Thank you FBC for many years (almost 4 years) of partnership in ministry and life. We’ve accomplished a lot together, many of which were challenges I wasn’t sure you could make it to…but every time you proved me wrong and excelled. Though we all know FBC was not without its problems and issues, those were not the deciding factor in our decision to leave. Please do not point fingers or attempt to place blame on anyone. It was God’s doing – blame Him (betcha can’t for very long). All we can say is we’ll miss you greatly and we thank you for your support, encouragement, and partnership in ministry. May God richly bless you.

Now…to East Pickens…here we come. Are you ready? God’s done some amazing things in my life. I want you to share in those gifts. I desire for you to grow in Christ, grow in worship, and grow in your attitude towards things of Christ. I will challenge you beyond what you think you can handle. I will seek to lead you to the throne of worship in every service and in between. My desire is that you would learn that Sunday’s times of worship should be a celebration of the culmination of a week’s worth of living for Christ. Don’t think of it as a weekly “fill-up” so you tackle the week ahead…you’ll never catch up that way. I can’t tell you how much I look forward to being your Creative Worship Minister. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

