• Disclaimer

    Views and opinions expressed in this blog should not be associated with Hyde Park Baptist Church unless specifically stated. You know the drill...this is just me and my thoughts.
  • Definition of Worship

    "Worship is communion with God in which believers, by grace, center their mind's attention and their heart's affection on the Lord, humby glorifying God in response to His greatness and His Word." ~Dr. Bruce Leafblad
  • Pages

Who do you love?

When that lawyer came to Jesus and asked what the greatest commandment was, he wanted to know what one thing he needed to do to gain eternal life. Just give me one thing, one action, I’ll do it, whatever it takes.
But Jesus, knowing what’s truly in every man’s heart, knew that he needed to hear something more…and in turn we needed to hear more.
So Jesus responded by saying the greatest commandment is to love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength, but the second is like it, love your neighbor as yourself.
Many churches use this as their mission statement, “Love God, Love Others.” But we often miss a really important part…I know I have missed this most of my life.
It’s those last two words of Jesus…”As yourself.” Love others just as much as you love yourself…with the implication that you should love yourself, and out of that, love others.
What if you don’t love yourself? I haven’t loved myself for a long time. I’m desparately trying to work through that and it’s symptoms. The one thing I keep having to remind myself over and over again is that God loves me…and that alone makes me worthy.
Who am I to talk such trash to one of God’s beloved (myself)? I don’t know about you, but I’m the biggest bully on my own block. I’m the meanest kid I know. I’ve suffered a lot from others words about and to me…but none of them even hold a candle to how I speak to myself.
We’ve got to stop. I’ve got to stop. My negative words to myself impact every area of my life…how well I love my God, how well I love my wife, how well I love my kids, how well I love others.
As unworthy as I may feel, or as unworthy as you may feel, I keep hearing these words, “Child you are loved.” I am God’s beloved. I am worthy, worth the pain and death of His own Son. I am an heir of the Kingdom of God. I am a sibling by adoption to Jesus Christ…who holds everything together by His own Name.
When we see ourselves the way God sees us, that truth transforms us, renews our minds, and comforts us to no end. It leads us to love God better and, in turn, love others better.
Do you love you? I’m learning to love me…and no lie, I’ve hated myself for so long, I’m battling this everyday…but it’s a battle I must fight. It’s a battle I must win…for the sake of my God, myself, my family, my calling to each of you.
Your fight is the same. Stop putting on the masks, get real with God and yourself, and start loving you.
1 Peter 2:9-10 (TLB), “But you are not like that, for you have been chosen by God himself—you are priests of the King, you are holy and pure, you are God’s very own—all this so that you may show to others how God called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light. 10 Once you were less than nothing; now you are God’s own. Once you knew very little of God’s kindness; now your very lives have been changed by it.”
Leave a Reply

